School Governance Committee

 School Governance Committee (SGC) members are interested members of the community, including parents of children at the school.

The current membership reflects a wide range of expertise and interest, and includes representation from parents; teaching and non-teaching staff; Unit/stations and King Richard School Senior Leadership Team.

We work with the Head Teacher and school staff to assist in making key decisions vital to the successful running of the school, contribute to decisions directly affecting the education and wellbeing of pupils, assist in improving standards throughout the school and monitor the school budget.

The SGC meets once a term as a whole committee to review and discuss school business, and represent the views of parents.

Main Roles

Provide a strategic overview
focusing on the key issues of raising standards of achievement, establishing high expectations and promoting effective teaching and learning
Act as a Critical Friend
providing the Head Teacher and Staff with support and advice using members’ knowledge and experience
Ensure Accountability
questioning and openly discussing with the Head Teacher the school’s performance and other issues, whilst respecting both the professional roles of the Head Teacher and school staff and their responsibilities for the management of the school

We do not act as the first line for complaints about any aspect of the school and its day to day work. There is a clear procedure to follow and the school should be contacted directly either via the Form Tutor, Head of Year or the Head Teacher.

Please note that SGCs in MOD schools vary in their activities compared to Governing bodies in the UK, where the Governors have greater executive responsibility in the management of schools including employment of staff.

Contact with a member of the SGC can be made at any time. We aim to be available at Academic Review days and other such school events to explain our role and discuss any issues Parents may wish to raise with us.

SGC Leaflet
SGC Faculty Links
SGC Member Visit to KRS Record Form

 

SGC Meeting 10 March 16. Agenda
SGC Meeting 10 May 16. Agenda
SGC Meeting 28 June 16. Agenda
SGC Meeting 04 Oct 16 Agenda
SGC Meeting 06 Dec 16. Agenda
SGC Meeting 24 Jan 17. Agenda
SGC Meeting 14 Mar 17. Agenda
SGC Meeting 20 Jun 17. Agenda
SGC Meeting 10 Oct 17. Agenda
SGC Meeting 05 Dec 17.Agenda
SGC Meeting 23 Jan18. Agenda
SGC Meeting 13 Mar 18. Agenda
SGC Meeting 19 Jun. Agenda

 

 

 

  Lt Col. Bruce Weston Station Command Dhekelia bruce.weston145@mod.gov.uk
 mr-richard-sproson Richard Sproson Principal rsproson@kingrichardschoolcyprus.com
George Burvill Vice Principal gburvill@kingrichardschoolcyprus.com
 mrs-sam-telford Sam Telford Fee Paying Representative micktelford@btinternet.com
 mr-joe-pointon Joe Pointon Teacher’s Representative jpointon@kingrichardschoolcyprus.com
   Padre Matt Coles  St Barnabas Church, Dhekelia  matthew.coles103@mod.gov.uk
 mrs-helen-rpovan Helen Provan School Health Nurse Hprov@aol.com
  Sqn Ldr Stephen Howarth Ay Nik Parent Representative stephen.howarth@hotmail.co.uk
  Capt Paddy Ferguson Ay Nik Parent Representative paddyferguson@hotmail.com
  Lisa Bedward Ay Nik Parent Representative lisabedward@yahoo.co.uk
  WO1 Jay Jones Dhekelia Parent Representative Jason.Jones992@mod.gov.uk

 mrs-kerry-lloyd Kerry Lloyd Civilian Volunteer Governor kerrylloyd@sky.com
 mr-edward-John-walker-1 John Walters Civilian Volunteer Governor johnliopetri@outlook.com
 kc-img_56401-4  Kim Cox  SGC Secretary kcox@kingrichardschoolcyprus.com
Carolyn Aggar  AFF Representative Rmcyprus@aff.org.uk

 

The following Governors are also Governors on the following Governing Bodies:
Sam Telford – Ayios Nikolaos Primary School
Stephen Howarth – Ayios Nikolaos Primary School
Carolyn Aggar  – St Johns School